Boris Leads But Labour Look Set to Make Local Gain

Onkar Sahota looking increasingly likely to gain Ealing and Hillingdon seat


Dr Onkar Sahota

Sign up for our free newsletter

Boris Johnson has taken a clear lead in the early stages of the count of first preference votes in the race to be Mayor but Labour appear to have increased their vote substantially in the London Assembly elections in the local area.

Labour seem set to win the Ealing and Hillingdon area vote with Dr Onkar Sahota looking likely to take the seat from current Deputy Mayor Richard Barnes.

The London Assembly results are currently expected to be announced at 6pm with the Mayoral vote announcement due at around 8pm if, as expected there is a need to count second preference votes to decide the winner.

Voters are picking a Mayor of London as well as 25 members of the London Assembly.

See Live Updates Here :London Elects web site

London Mayoral Election

Candidate Party
Siobhan Benita Independent
Carlos Cortiglia British National Party
Boris Johnson Conservative
Jenny Jones Green
Ken Livingstone Labour
Brian Paddick Liberal Democrats
Lawrence Webb Fresh Choice for London (UKIP)

London Assembly Election

Ealing and Hillingdon Constituency

Candidate Party
Richard Barnes Conservative
Onkar Sahota Labour
Mike Cox Liberal Democrats
Mike Harling Green
Helen Knight Fresh Choice for London (UKIP)
David Furness BNP
Ian Edward National Front


4th May 2012